Contact
Contact
RAFI GmbH & Co. KG

Ravensburger Str. 128–134
88276 Berg/Ravensburg
Germany
P +49 751 89-0
F +49 751 89-1300

Phone Mail

GET IN TOUCH WITH HMI

HMI SYSTEMS

GET IN TOUCH WITH HMI

HMI SYSTEMS
  1. Home
  2. Ι HMI

TOUCH THE FUTURE WITH RAFI

Our everyday lives are full of machines: smartphones, cars, computers, coffee machines, elevators – the list could go on and on. Most points of contact with machines have become so commonplace that we no longer even perceive them as such.

For this reason, many people do not think about how we interact with these machines. At RAFI, we do. As a leading manufacturer of HMI systems, we deal with this precise moment every day – at the interface between human and machine. Our goal is to make this moment a lasting positive experience.

We see ourselves as a solution provider. That means you get your human-machine interface with everything that goes with it. From touchscreens to command and signaling devices, tactile switches and electromechanical systems such as joysticks, to electronics, software, and housings. At RAFI, you get everything from a single partner in the form of platform solutions in absolutely top quality and with fast time-to-market. From the initial idea to the finished product.

Vehicles - HMI

TRAFFIC AREA CLEANING

User-friendly control panel with RAMO 22 control and signaling components

In the daily work of floor cleaning machines, the control technology has to withstand a lot and, in addition to mechanical influences, also some rustic operations.

This is why Dr. Gansow Gmatic AG relies on the installation-friendly and robust switches of the RAFI RAMO 22 series as operating units in its high-quality manufactured Gmatic and Rotan scrubber-driers.

.

FLEXSCAPE
PLATFORMS

MODULAR. RELIABLE. INNOVATIVE.

Customized to your requirements, our innovative platforms are ideal when you need individual operating concepts for machines and components. Our portfolio covers touchscreen technologies and computer platforms, as well as multi-functional operating elements such as joysticks or rotary encoders. At every stage of the process, we support you as a solution provider. We help you transform your concept into a unique product. We can also take care of development, production and all services.

...MORE

CONTROL AND SIGNALING COMPONENTS
CONTROL AND SIGNALING COMPONENTS

QUALITY YOU CAN RELY ON

Our control and signaling components have proven their worth in a wide range of applications over decades. Many of the human-machine interfaces on the market today would be unthinkable without them. Yet we continue to develop innovations. Whether Plug&Play or IO-LINK, our products set new standards. Incidentally, all our standard components are available not only directly from us, but also from many trade partners worldwide.

...MORE

TACTILE SWITCHES
TACTILE SWITCHES

LEAVE NOTHING TO CHANCE

RAFI tactile switches are ideal for applications in the automotive industry, mechanical engineering, signaling systems, and measurement and control technology. They have been established for decades in these fields due to their quality and safe switching. The same characteristics also qualify them for our HMI systems. Here you can find a wide range of tactile switches for your project. They are also available worldwide from our trading partners.

...MORE

[Translate to Englisch:] KIS.LIGHT und KIS.BOX von RAFI
DIGITAL SOLUTIONS

KIS.ME – DIGITALIZATION MADE EASY

Simple digitalization wherever people work – even in remote or manual workplaces. This idea was our starting point. Now, with KIS.ME, we offer you the innovative solution for just that. You can make your company more transparent in no time, for example by linking and optimizing manual processes, without any additional programming or management consulting. Connect, set up, and go. This is what we mean by: “Keep it simple. Manage everything“. Try it out now!

...MORE

Insight into RAFI's touch production

TECHNOLOGIES

LEAVE NOTHING TO CHANCE

As a technology leader, we have high quality standards for ourselves and our products. That is why we produce our HMI systems as far as possible ourselves. Whether touch sensors, printing, metalworking, electronics manufacturing or plastic injection molding – at RAFI we use state-of-the-art machines to attain the best possible quality. For printing, we use flatbed screen printing machines, fully automatic cylinder printing machines, digital printing machines, tampoprint machines, and hot stamping machines. When working plastics, we rely on hydraulic and fully electric injection molding machines as well as various special processes for molding around glass, two-color and multi-component injection molding. We machine metal chip-free on CNC machining centers, and we also use various bolt insertion and welding techniques. For our touch sensors “Made in Germany”, we use laser structuring of the ITO layers, fine conductor printing to connect the sensor points, electrical connection technology using the hot sealing method, vacuum lamination of the cover and sensor glass, as well as optical bonding between the touchscreen sensor and the display. Finally, we also assemble the systems ourselves – either manually, or semi and fully automatically. You can find out more about electronics manufacturing in the EMS section.

[Translate to Englisch:] Zwei RAFI-Mitarbeiter in einem Meeting
APPROVALS

CUSTOMERS IN A WIDE RANGE OF INDUSTRIES TRUST IN RAFI

Leading companies in various industries count on HMI systems from RAFI. Our customers demand high levels of quality, reliability, and safety. The fact that our products meet these requirements is confirmed by numerous permits and certificates. Our solutions feature CE and UL conformity and comply with standards for medical technology, mechanical engineering, agricultural machinery and functional safety. You can find all our certifications here.

[Translate to Englisch:] RAFI-Mitarbeiter in einem Meeting.
Service

FOR SATISFACTION FROM START TO FINISH

Anyone who supplies leading products needs a corresponding service. To ensure your device meets your expectations over a long service life, we take care of the entire process beyond qualification and approvals. Included here are personal consultation, project management, technical coordination, engineering, development, materials management, manufacture of production equipment, test concept, traceability, repair service, quality assurance, and after-sales service.

RAFI employee in conversation
HMI

What are human machine interfaces or HMI systems?

The term human machine interface, often abbreviated to HMI, means a function or component that allows people to control and interact with machines. These interfaces are now often touchscreens – also in the industrial sector. We speak of complete HMI systems when, in addition to the actual interface, the housing, the software, and other control devices, such as pushbuttons and switches, are also mapped.

What does a human machine interface consist of?

... More

As already mentioned, the touchscreen currently dominates the market for HMI devices. But an interface between human and machine does not always have to be a capacitive screen. Control components, keyboards, joysticks or joycoders can also do the job. The choice always depends on the individual task. For example, if blind operation is essential, a simple switch may be just as suitable as a touchscreen with force detection and haptic feedback. With increasing complexity, for example in automation, an HMI panel with touch certainly makes sense. These high-performance HMIs often have to map a multitude of functions: data visualization, different control levels, multiple input options. Of course, the advantages of a touchscreen outweigh the disadvantages here. Despite this, touchscreens are usually still combined with additional elements, such as a keyboard, electromechanical system, or other hardware components in order to meet the high demands of safety and usability. During development, it makes sense to consider what is already being used in practice.

... Less

The human machine interface in different industry segments

The usability and safety requirements of the HMI differ depending on the area of application. That’s why it’s worth taking a closer look at some industry segments or sectors to understand what differences there are in human machine systems. Long-term availability is an important consideration in development, design, and purchasing. Especially in the touch sector, series are often discontinued as soon as new versions are on the market. Here, a reliable partner is invaluable. That is why RAFI makes the sensors for its own touchscreens. This not only ensures quality, it also provides our partners with years of planning security.

... More

Vehicle technology

Vehicle technology is extremely diverse. From ordinary motor vehicles to highly developed tractors and snow groomers, every vehicle needs the right HMI. In the automotive sector, multimedia and assistance systems are increasingly important alongside safety. It seems that some cars have a touchscreen, pushbutton, or switch on almost every square inch of interior surface. However, the current trend is towards reduction and concentration of functions on an HMI. US electromobility pioneer Tesla has already demonstrated this with its Touch concept. It will be interesting to see how the conventional automobile industry will react to this in the future.

In agricultural technology, user-friendliness is naturally also a top priority. But here, individual requirements are much more varied. After all, different devices have to be controlled depending on the field of application. That’s why modern tractors often use HMI panels that combine industrial touchscreens with joysticks, control components, and membrane keyboards. Control components are integrated in armrests, where ergonomics also plays a central role in the development. This is because the HMI must be fatigue-free to use.

In special vehicle construction, the defining topics are similar: safety, ergonomics, and user-friendliness – with a high level of individual character. That is easy to explain. A snow groomer used to prepare snow parks in a ski resort has completely different requirements of its HMI than a snow plough used to clear regional trunk roads. Customized development is the rule for these mobile machines. Close consultation with the customer is needed to determine whether joysticks, touchscreens, control components, or keyboards are the right choice. But even here, combinations of many different elements are standard.

Medical technology

Safety is the number-one priority in healthcare. Electromedical devices must not have any unforeseen downtime. This can literally be a matter of life and death. That is why the licensing and qualification processes in this industry are lengthy and intensive. As blind operation is often essential during surgery and examinations, medical technology usually uses elements that provide haptic feedback. A recent development is that these can also be media-resistant touchscreens with force detection. They are mostly used in combination with control components such as pushbuttons and switches to leave nothing to chance.

Another common challenge is the choice of the right materials. The devices have to withstand permanent cleaning with cleaning agents that kill bacteria, viruses, and fungi, and are therefore often aggressive.

The finish should of course also be right to make it as easy as possible for the operator to use the HMI. The best technical machine is no good if, for example, the surface is not seamless where it needs to be. This applies whether the machine is ultrasound, surgical or respiratory equipment.

Industry

Productivity, efficiency, process optimization – in industry, results count. That goes for mechanical and plant engineering, electrical engineering, or in the field of measurement and control. So first and foremost, a human machine interface must reliably start up the machines and systems. For example paper and printing machines, leather and textile machines, or industrial robots. Especially in robotics, mobile HMI panels, known as smartpads, are increasingly common, acting as industrial-grade tablets. They allow the operator absolute flexibility in operation.

In addition, human machine interfaces in industry often perform tasks that go beyond pure control. The user can access information about states, view processes, and control various tools on the HMI. The display of all applications is often structured in the form of a customizable dashboard. Software, processor unit, and operating system work hand in hand in the background. Experienced HMI providers often develop and supply these elements as part of the package. This can even include connection to the SCADA system.

Design

One aspect we haven’t addressed yet is design. It plays an increasingly central role in virtually all areas. One machine is not the same as the next. With today’s state of development, differentiation is often only possible via the design. However, it is not just about the color and shape of the exterior, but also about the UX (“user experience”) design. The user’s experience is optimized, and operating errors are minimized at the same time.

HMI systems as part of SCADA systems

What does HMI have to do with SCADA (supervisory control and data acquisition)? SCADA systems are used for central control of a plant or entire factory. They often have various HMI systems integrated to control and monitor individual machines, plants, processes, or devices. There is basically no such thing as a SCADA system or control system completely without human machine interfaces.

Technology to manufacture HMI systems

In order to produce a human machine interface, you need extensive practical knowledge in development and production. Different areas must work hand in hand to achieve a satisfactory end result. Integrating all stakeholders completely into a smooth process is one of the biggest challenges. This is true especially because many HMI manufacturers outsource certain sections of the process. In contrast, RAFI is happy to manage all the steps from the initial idea to the finished product in-house at the customer’s request. To be able to guarantee this, we have built up an unparalleled manufacturing depth over the years: touch production, SMT assembly, THT assembly, metalworking, plastics processing, tool shop, test equipment manufacture, and many other departments. All this guarantees perfect quality of the individual components at our locations. RAFI supplies the complete human machine interface with housing, control components, touchscreen, joystick, electromechanical systems, software, operating system and processor unit.

Human and machine in the future

Of course the HMI market is continuously developing. The control of a human machine interface via facial expressions, gestures, and speech is becoming more and more common, especially in the consumer sector. In the industrial sector, experience shows that such developments take longer because more regulations and approvals apply in order to ensure safe operation. After all, extremely easy speech control, familiar from various voice assistants, could have potentially disastrous consequences in a production plant. As already mentioned, one machine is not the same as the next. That is why HMI systems vary so much.

... Less
site-to-top

Kontakt
Kontakt
RAFI GmbH & Co. KG

Ravensburger Str. 128–134
88276 Berg/Ravensburg
Deutschland
T +49 751 89-0
F +49 751 89-1300

Phone Mail
get in touch with HMI Systems
GET IN TOUCH WITH HMI HMI SYSTEMS
GET IN TOUCH WITH HMI HMI SYSTEMS
  1. Startseite
  2. Ι HMI

MIT RAFI DIE ZUKUNFT BERÜHREN

Unser Alltag steckt voller Maschinen: Smartphone, Automobil, Computer, Kaffeevollautomat oder Aufzug – die Liste könnte beliebig erweitert werden. Die meisten Berührungspunkte mit Maschinen sind so alltäglich geworden, dass wir sie gar nicht mehr als solche wahrnehmen.

Aus diesem Grund machen sich viele Menschen auch keine Gedanken darüber, wie wir mit diesen Maschinen interagieren. Wir bei RAFI sind da anders. Als führender Hersteller von HMI Systems beschäftigen wir uns tagtäglich genau mit diesem Moment, mit der Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch und Maschine, mit dem Human Machine Interface. Unser Ziel ist es, diesen Moment zu einem bleibenden positiven Erlebnis zu machen.

Dabei verstehen wir uns als Lösungsanbieter. Das bedeutet: Sie bekommen Ihr Human Machine Interface mit allem, was dazugehört. Vom Touchscreen über Befehls- und Meldegeräte, Kurzhubtaster und elektromechanische Systeme wie Joysticks bis zu Elektronik, Software und Gehäuse. Bei RAFI bekommen Sie alles von einem Partner – als Plattformlösungen, in absoluter Spitzenqualität und mit schneller Timte-to-Market. Von der Idee bis zum fertigen Produkt.

RAFI - Gansow
Fahrzeugtechnik - HMI

Verkehrsflächen-
reinigung

Bedienerfreundliches Steuerpult mit den Befehls- und Meldegeräten RAMO 22

Im Arbeitsalltag von Bodenreinigungsmaschinen muss die Bedientechnik einiges aushalten und neben mechanischen Einwirkungen auch manch rustikale Betätigung verkraften.

Deshalb setzt die Dr. Gansow Gmatic AG auf die montagefreundlichen und robusten Schalter der RAFI-Baureihe RAMO 22 als Bedieneinheiten in seinen hochwertig gefertigten Scheuersaugmaschinen Gmatic und Rotan.

Nahaufnahme: FLEXSCAPE von RAFI wird bedient
Plattformen

MODULAR. ZUVERLÄSSIG. INNOVATIV.

Maßgeschneidert auf Ihre Anforderungen kommen unsere innovativen Plattformen immer dann zum Einsatz, wenn individuelle Bedienkonzepte für Maschinen und Geräte gefragt sind. Unser Portfolio umfasst Touchscreen-Technologien, Rechnerplattformen sowie Multifunktions-Bedienelemente wie Joysticks oder Dreh-Encoder. Dabei stehen wir Ihnen an jeder Stelle des Prozesses als Lösungsanbieter zur Seite, um Ihr Konzept in ein einzigartiges Produkt zu überführen. Darüber hinaus kümmern wir uns um die Entwicklung, Herstellung und alle Serviceleistungen.

...MEHR

Auswahl von Befehls- und Meldegeräten von RAFI
BEFEHLS- UND MELDEGERÄTE

QUALITÄT, AUF DIE SIE SICH VERLASSEN KÖNNEN

Unsere Befehls- und Meldegeräte bewähren sich seit vielen Jahrzehnten in den unterschiedlichsten Einsatzgebieten. Heute sind sie aus vielen Human Machine Interfaces am Markt nicht mehr wegzudenken. Aber auch hier bleiben unsere Innovationen nicht aus: ob Plug&Play oder IO-LINK, unsere Produkte setzen Trends. Übrigens: alle Standard-Komponenten sind nicht nur bei uns direkt, sondern auch weltweit bei vielen Handelspartnern verfügbar.

...MEHR

Kurzhubtaster von RAFI: MICON 5, RACON, RF und KN 19

RAFI-Kurzhubtaster sind ideal für den Einsatz in den Branchen Automotive, Maschinenbau, Signalbau und Mess-, Steuerungs- und Regeltechnik geeignet. Dort kommen sie seit Jahrzehnten zum Einsatz und schalten sicher – aufgrund ihrer Qualität natürlich auch in unseren HMI-Systemen. Hier finden Sie eine breite Palette an Kurzhubtastern für Ihr Projekt, die Sie auch weltweit über Handelspartner beziehen können.

...MEHR

KIS.LIGHT und KIS.BOX von RAFI
DIGITALE LÖSUNGEN

Optimieren leicht gemacht

Einfach digitalisieren, überall dort wo Menschen arbeiten – auch an entlegenen oder Handarbeitsplätzen. Mit diesem Ziel sind wir bei RAFI gestartet und bieten Ihnen mit KIS.ME die innovative Lösung dafür. Im Handumdrehen machen Sie Ihr Unternehmen transparenter, indem Sie beispielsweise manuelle Prozesse vernetzen und optimieren – ganz ohne zusätzliche Programmierung oder Unternehmensberatung. Anschließen, einrichten und loslegen. Ganz nach dem Motto: „Keep it simple. Manage everything“. Probieren Sie es einfach aus.

...MEHR

Einblick in die Touchproduktion von RAFI

Technologien

NICHTS DEM ZUFALL ÜBERLASSEN

Als Technologieführer haben wir einen hohen Qualitätsanspruch an uns und unsere Produkte. Darum produzieren wir unsere HMI-Systeme zum größtmöglichen Teil selbst: Touchsensoren, Druck, Metallbearbeitung, Elektronikfertigung oder Kunststoffspritzguss – bei RAFI kommen modernste Maschinen für bestmögliche Qualität zum Einsatz. Für den Druck Flachbett-Siebdruck-Maschinen, vollautomatische Zylinderdruck-Maschinen, Digitaldruckmaschinen, Tamponprint-Maschinen und Heißprägemaschinen. Im Kunststoffbereich hydraulische und vollelektrische Spritzgussmaschinen sowie verschiedene Sonderverfahren für das Umspritzen von Glas, Zwei-Farben- und Mehrkomponenten-Spritzguss. Metall bearbeiten wir spanend und spanlos auf CNC-Bearbeitungszentren, zusätzlich nutzen wir verschiedene Bolzeneinpress- und Schweißtechniken. Für unsere Touchsensoren „made in Germany“ nutzen wir Laserstrukturierung der ITO-Schichten, Feinleiterdruck zur Verbindung der Sensorpunkte, elektrische Verbindungstechnik mittels Heißsiegelverfahren, Vakuumlaminierung der Deck- und Sensorgläser sowie Optical Bonding zwischen Touchscreensensor und Display. Abschließend montieren wir die Systeme natürlich auch selbst – manuell, teil- und vollautomatisch. Zur Elektronikfertigung erfahren Sie mehr im Bereich EMS.

Zwei RAFI-Mitarbeiter in einem Meeting
Zulassungen

VIELE BRANCHEN VERTRAUEN RAFI

Führende Unternehmen unterschiedlichster Branchen setzen auf HMI-Systeme von RAFI. Die Ansprüche an Qualität, Zuverlässigkeit und Sicherheit sind dementsprechend hoch. Dass unsere Produkte diese erfüllen, bestätigen zahlreiche Zulassungen und Zertifikate. Angefangen bei CE- und UL -Konformität über Medizintechnik, Maschinenbau oder Landmaschinen bis zu funktionaler Sicherheit. Alle Zertifikate finden Sie hier.

RAFI-Mitarbeiter in einem Meeting.
Service

Für Zufriedenheit von Anfang bis Ende

Wer führende Produkte liefert, braucht einen dementsprechenden Service. Damit das Gerät auf lange Zeit Ihren Vorstellungen entspricht, kümmern wir uns über Qualifizierung und Zulassungen hinaus um den gesamten Prozess: Persönliche Beratung, Projektleitung, technische Koordination, Engineering, Entwicklung, Materialwirtschaft, Betriebsmittelbau, Prüfungskonzept, Traceability, Reparaturservice, Qualitätssicherung und After-Sales-Service.

RAFI-Mitarbeiterin im Gespräch
HMI

Human Machine Interface, Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle, HMI Systems – was ist was?

Die Begriffe Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle und Human Machine Interface, häufig abgekürzt als HMI, meinen per Definition eine Funktion oder Komponente, mit der Menschen Maschinen steuern und mit ihnen interagieren können. Oft sind diese Schnittstellen mittlerweile Touchscreens – auch im industriellen Bereich. Von ganzen HMI-Systemen wird gesprochen, wenn neben der eigentlichen Schnittstelle auch beispielsweise das Gehäuse, die Software und weitere Befehlsgeräte wie Taster und Schalter mit abgebildet werden sollen.

WORAUS BESTEHT EIN HUMAN MACHINE INTERFACE?

... Mehr

Wie schon erwähnt, dominiert der Touchscreen momentan den Markt der HMI-Geräte. Doch eine Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch und Maschine muss nicht immer ein kapazitiver Bildschirm sein. Befehlsgeräte, Tastaturen, Joysticks oder Joycoder können diese Aufgabe in der Praxis ebenso übernehmen. Die Wahl hängt dabei immer von der individuellen Aufgabe ab. Muss beispielsweise Blindbedienung gewährleistet sein, eignet sich ein einfacher Schalter möglicherweise genauso gut wie ein Touchscreen mit Krafterkennung und Haptik-Feedback. Bei steigender Komplexität, beispielsweise in der Automatisierung, ist ein HMI-Panel mit Touch sicher sinnvoll. Diese Hochleistungs-HMI müssen oft eine Vielzahl an Funktionen abbilden: Datenvisualisierung, verschiedene Steuerungsebenen, multiple Eingabemöglichkeiten. Die Vorteile eines Touchscreens überwiegen hier natürlich. Trotzdem wird dieser meist noch mit zusätzlichen Elementen wie einer Tastatur, elektromechanischen Systemen oder anderen Hardwarekomponenten kombiniert, um den hohen Anforderungen an Sicherheit und Usability gerecht zu werden. Was in der Praxis dann Anwendung findet, muss natürlich bereits in der Entwicklung bedacht werden.

... Weniger

Die Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle in verschiedenen Industriesegmenten

Die eben angesprochenen Anforderungen an Usability und Sicherheit des HMI unterscheiden sich je nach Anwendungsgebiet. Darum lohnt es sich, auf manche Industriesegmente oder Branchen einen genaueren Blick zu werfen, um zu verstehen, welche Unterschiede es bei Mensch-Maschine-Systemen gibt. Ein Thema, das viele Fachkräfte aus Entwicklung, Konstruktion und Einkauf umtreibt, ist die Langzeitverfügbarkeit. Vor allem im Touch-Bereich werden Serien häufig abgekündigt, sobald neue Versionen auf dem Markt sind. Hier ist ein zuverlässiger Partner das A und O. Aus diesem Grund stellt RAFI die Sensoren für die Touchscreens selbst her. Das sichert zum einen die Qualität, zum anderen verschafft es den Partnern jahrelange Planungssicherheit.

... Mehr

Fahrzeugtechnik
Die Fahrzeugtechnik ist äußerst vielfältig. Vom gewöhnlichen Kraftfahrzeug über hoch entwickelte Traktoren bis hin zur Pistenraupe möchte hier alles, was fährt, mit einem passenden HMI versorgt werden. Im Automobilbereich rücken hier neben der Sicherheit immer mehr Multimedia- und Assistenzsysteme in den Vordergrund. Nicht umsonst findet sich auf beinahe jedem Quadratzentimeter mancher Autos ein Touchscreen, Taster oder Schalter. Der Trend geht hier aber momentan eher in Richtung Reduktion und Konzentration der Funktionalitäten auf ein HMI. Der amerikanische Elektromobilitäts-Pionier Tesla hat dies mit seinem Touch-Konzept bereits vorgemacht. Wir dürfen gespannt sein, wie die klassische Automobilindustrie in Zukunft darauf reagiert.

In der Landtechnik steht natürlich auch die Benutzerfreundlichkeit an oberster Stelle. Doch hier sind die Ausprägungen deutlich individueller. Schließlich müssen je nach Einsatzgebiet verschiedene Geräte angesteuert werden. In modernen Traktoren kommen darum häufig HMI-Panels zum Einsatz, die industrietaugliche Touchscreens mit Joysticks, Befehlsgeräten und Folientastaturen kombinieren. Dann spricht man von sogenannten Armrests, bei denen auch die Ergonomie eine zentrale Rolle in der Entwicklung spielt. Schließlich sollten bei der Bedienung keine durch das HMI verursachten Ermüdungserscheinungen auftreten.

Im Sonderfahrzeugbau sind die bestimmenden Themen ähnliche: Sicherheit, Ergonomie und Usability – bei hoher Individualität. Das ist einfach zu erklären: Eine Pistenraupe, mit der im Skigebiet Snowparks präpariert werden, hat ganz andere Anforderungen an ein HMI als ein Schneepflug zum Räumen der regionalen Verkehrsadern. Bei diesen mobilen Maschinen ist die kundenspezifische Entwicklung die Regel. Ob Joysticks, Touchscreens, Befehlsgeräte oder Tastaturen zum Einsatz kommen, wird hier in enger Abstimmung mit dem Kunden entschieden. Doch auch hier kommen meist Kombinationen aus vielen verschiedenen Elementen zum Einsatz.

Medizintechnik

Sicherheit ist im Healthcare-Bereich das oberste Gebot. Elektromedizinische Geräte dürfen keine unvorhergesehenen Ausfallzeiten haben, schließlich geht es mitunter um Leben und Tod. Darum sind die Zulassungs- und Qualifizierungsprozesse in dieser Branche langwierig und intensiv. Da die Blindbedienung während Operationen und Untersuchungen häufig ein Muss ist, wird in der Medizintechnik meist mit Elementen gearbeitet, die ein haptisches Feedback geben. Seit kurzer Zeit können dies auch medienbeständige Touchscreens mit Krafterkennung sein. Meist in Kombination mit Befehlsgeräten wie Tastern und Schaltern, um nichts dem Zufall zu überlassen.

Eine weitere Herausforderung besteht oft in der Wahl der richtigen Materialien. Schließlich müssen diese der permanenten Reinigung mit bakteriziden, viruziden und fungiziden Reinigungsmitteln standhalten, die häufig recht aggressiv sein müssen, um die gewünschten Wirkungen erzielen zu können.

Um dem Bediener eine möglichst angenehme Nutzung des HMI zu ermöglichen, sollte natürlich auch die Verarbeitung stimmen. Die technisch beste Maschine nützt nichts, wenn beispielsweise eine gewisse Spaltfreiheit nicht gegeben ist. Hierbei macht es auch keinen Unterschied, ob wir über Ultraschall-, Chirurgie- oder Beatmungsgeräte sprechen.

Industrie

Produktivität, Effizienz, Prozessoptimierung – in der Industrie zählen Ergebnisse. Egal, ob wir uns im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, in der Elektrotechnik oder im Bereich Messen-Steuern-Regeln befinden. Ein Human Machine Interface muss also in erster Linie die Maschinen und Anlagen zuverlässig in Gang setzen. Zum Beispiel Papier- und Druckmaschinen, Leder- und Textilmaschinen oder auch Industrieroboter. Vor allem im Bereich der Robotik kommen immer öfter mobile HMI-Panels, sogenannte Smartpads, zum Einsatz, die mit einem industrietauglichen Tablet verglichen werden können. Sie ermöglichen dem Bediener eine absolut flexible Bedienung.

Darüber hinaus erledigen Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen in der Industrie häufig Aufgaben, die über die reine Steuerung hinausgehen. Der Benutzer kann auf dem jeweiligen HMI Informationen über Zustände abfragen, Abläufe einsehen und verschiedene Werkzeuge ansteuern. Die Anzeige aller Anwendungen ist dann oft in Form eines individualisierbaren Dashboards aufgebaut. Dafür arbeiten im Hintergrund Software, Rechnereinheit und Betriebssystem Hand in Hand, die bei erfahrenen HMI-Anbietern oft mit angeboten und entwickelt werden. Häufig wird selbst die Anbindung ans SCADA-System mit angedacht und übernommen.

Design

Ein Aspekt, den wir noch nicht thematisiert haben, ist das Design. In quasi allen Bereichen spielt es eine immer zentralere Rolle. Maschine ist eben nicht gleich Maschine. Eine Unterscheidung ist beim heutigen Entwicklungsstand oft nur über das Design möglich. Hier sprechen wir aber nicht ausschließlich über Farbe und Form des Äußeren, sondern auch explizit über das UX-(„User Experience“)Design. Das Erlebnis des Bedieners wird optimiert, Bedienfehler gleichzeitig minimiert.

HMI-Systeme als Teil von SCADA-Systemen

Was hat HMI mit SCADA („Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition“ oder übergeordnete Steuerung und Datenerfassung) zu tun? SCADA-Systeme dienen der zentralen Steuerung einer Anlage oder gesamten Fabrik. In ihr sind häufig verschiedene HMI-Systeme integriert, um einzelne Maschinen, Anlagen, Prozesse oder Geräte steuern und überwachen zu können. Ein SCADA-System oder Steuerungssystem komplett ohne Human Machine Interfaces gibt es im Grunde genommen nicht.

Technologien zur Herstellung von HMI-Systemen

Um ein Human Machine Interface herzustellen, braucht es ausgeprägtes Praxiswissen in Entwicklung und Fertigung. Verschiedene Bereiche müssen Hand in Hand arbeiten, um zu einem zufriedenstellenden Endergebnis zu kommen. Die komplette Integration aller Beteiligten in einen reibungslosen Prozess stellt dabei eine der größten Herausforderungen dar. Vor allem, weil viele HMI-Hersteller gewisse Prozessabschnitte auslagern. RAFI hingegen übernimmt alle Schritte, von der Idee bis zum fertigen Produkt, selbst – sofern der Kunde dies möchte. Um dies gewährleisten zu können, haben wir uns mit den Jahren eine Fertigungstiefe aufgebaut, die ihresgleichen sucht: Touchproduktion, SMT-Bestückung, THT-Bestückung, Metallbearbeitung, Kunststoffbearbeitung, Werkzeugbau, Prüfmittelbau und viele weitere Abteilungen sorgen an unseren Standorten für die richtige Qualität der einzelnen Elemente. Schließlich bekommen Sie Ihr Human Machine Interface bei RAFI mit Gehäuse, Befehlsgeräten, Touchscreen, Joystick, elektromechanischen Systemen, Software, Betriebssystem und Rechnereinheit.

Mensch und Maschine in der Zukunft

Natürlich entwickelt sich auch der HMI-Markt immer weiter. Die Steuerung eines Human Machine Interface über Mimik, Gestik und Sprache nimmt vor allem im Consumer-Bereich immer mehr zu. Im industriellen Bereich brauchen solche Entwicklungen erfahrungsgemäß länger, weil es hier mehr Vorschriften und Zulassungen gibt, die erfüllt werden müssen, um eine sichere Bedienung gewährleisten zu können. Schließlich hätte die spielend leichte Steuerung über Sprache, wie von verschiedenen Voice Assistants bekannt, bei einer Produktionsanlage möglicherweise verheerende Folgen. Maschine ist, wie bereits erwähnt, eben nicht gleich Maschine. Darum sind HMI-Systeme auch so unterschiedlich.

... Weniger
site-to-top